WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 1113

The County Borough of Wrexham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021

Title and commencement

- **1.**—(1) The title of this Order is the County Borough of Wrexham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021.
- (2) For any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Regulations, this Order comes into force on the second day after the day on which it is made.
- (3) For all other purposes, this Order comes into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022(1).

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"electoral ward" ("ward etholiadol") means any area for which members are elected to Wrexham County Borough Council;

"the Regulations" ("y Rheoliadau") means the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(2):

any reference to a map means one of the 12 maps marked "Map of the County Borough of Wrexham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021" deposited in accordance with regulation 5 of the Regulations, labelled "1" to "12", and a reference to a numbered map is a reference to the map that bears that number;

where a boundary is shown on a map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

words and expressions used in this Order have the same meaning as they have in Part 3 of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013, except so far as a contrary intention appears.

Electoral arrangements for the County Borough of Wrexham

- **3.**—(1) The electoral wards of the County Borough of Wrexham, as they exist immediately before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022, are abolished.
- (2) The County Borough of Wrexham is divided into 49 electoral wards each bearing the English language name listed in column 1 and the Welsh language name listed in column 2 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.

⁽¹⁾ The Local Authorities (Change to the Years of Ordinary Elections) (Wales) Order 2019 (S.I. 2019/1269 (W. 220)) amends section 26(1) of the 1972 Act to provide that the year in which the ordinary elections of councillors of local authorities shall take place is 2022 instead of 2021.

⁽²⁾ S.I. 1976/246. Section 74(3) of the 2013 Act provides that the Regulations continue to have effect in relation to orders made under Part 3 of the 2013 Act, as if those orders were made under Part 4 of the 1972 Act.

- (3) Each electoral ward comprises the areas specified in relation to that electoral ward in column 3 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (4) The number of members of the council to be elected for each electoral ward is the number specified in column 4 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (5) The provisions in this Order take precedence over any conflicting provision in any previous statutory instrument made under section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972(3).

The community of Cefn: changes to community wards

- **4.** In the community of Cefn—
 - (a) the part of the Acrefair and Penybryn ward shown hatched on Map 1 is transferred to the Plas Madoc ward;
 - (b) the part of the Cefn ward shown hatched on Map 2 is transferred to the Acrefair and Penybryn ward;
 - (c) the part of the Rhosymedre and Cefn Bychan ward shown cross-hatched on Map 2 is transferred to the Acrefair and Penybryn ward.

The community of Cefn: consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 5. In the community of Cefn—
 - (a) the number of members to be elected for the Acrefair and Penybryn ward is 5;
 - (b) the number of members to be elected for the Cefn ward is 5;
 - (c) the number of members to be elected for the Rhosymedre and Cefn Bychan ward is 1.

The community of Rhosllanerchrugog: changes to community wards

- **6.** In the community of Rhosllanerchrugog—
 - (a) the part of Ponciau North ward shown hatched on Map 3 is transferred to the Rhos ward;
 - (b) the part of the Ponciau South ward shown cross-hatched on Map 3 is transferred to the Rhos ward.

The community of Rhosllanerchrugog: consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 7. In the community of Rhosllanerchrugog—
 - (a) the number of members to be elected for the Johnstown ward is 6;
 - (b) the number of members to be elected for the Ponciau South ward is 2;
 - (c) the number of members to be elected for the Rhos ward is 4.

The community of Broughton: changes to community wards

- 8. In the community of Broughton—
 - (a) the part of the Brynteg ward shown hatched on Map 4 is transferred to the Bryn Cefn ward;
 - (b) the part of the Brynteg ward shown hatched on Map 5 is transferred to the Gwenfro ward;
 - (c) the part of the New Broughton ward shown cross-hatched on Map 5 is transferred to the Gwenfro ward.

^{(3) 1972} c. 70; section 58 of the 1972 Act was repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the 2013 Act, subject to savings provisions specified in section 74 of the 2013 Act.

The community of Broughton: consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 9. In the community of Broughton—
 - (a) the number of members to be elected for the Bryn Cefn ward is 5;
 - (b) the number of members to be elected for the Brynteg ward is 2;
 - (c) the number of members to be elected for the Gwenfro ward is 5.

The community of Gwersyllt: changes to community wards

10. The part of the Gwersyllt South ward of the community of Gwersyllt shown hatched on Map 6 is transferred to the Gwersyllt East ward of the community of Gwersyllt.

The community of Gwersyllt: consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 11. In the community of Gwersyllt—
 - (a) the number of members to be elected for the East ward is 4;
 - (b) the number of members to be elected for the South ward is 4;
 - (c) the number of members to be elected for the West ward is 5.

The community of Caia Park: changes to community wards

- 12. In the community of Caia Park—
 - (a) the part of the Whitegate ward shown hatched on Map 7 is transferred to the Smithfield ward;
 - (b) the part of the Smithfield ward shown hatched on Map 8 is transferred to the Wynnstay ward.

The communities of Abenbury and Caia Park: changes to community boundaries

13. That part of the community of Abenbury shown hatched on Map 9 is transferred to the community of Caia Park, and forms part of the Whitegate ward of the community of Caia Park.

The community of Caia Park: consequential changes to electoral arrangements

14. The number of members to be elected for the Wynnstay ward of the community of Caia Park is 3.

The community of Offa: changes to community wards

- **15.** In the community of Offa—
 - (a) the parts of the Offa ward shown hatched on Map 10 are transferred to the Erddig ward;
 - (b) the part of the Brynyffynnon ward shown hatched on Map 11 is transferred to the Offa ward:
 - (c) the part of the Offa ward shown hatched on Map 12 is transferred to the Brynyffynnon ward.

The community of Offa: consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- **16.** In the community of Offa—
 - (a) the number of members to be elected for the Hermitage ward is 4;

(b) the number of members to be elected for the Offa ward is 5.

Rebecca Evans
Minister for Finance and Local Government, one
of the Welsh Ministers

4 October 2021