WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 1114 (W. 269)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The County Borough of Neath Port Talbot (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021

Made - - - 4 October 2021 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales(1) has, in accordance with section 36(5) of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013(2) ("the 2013 Act"), submitted to the Welsh Ministers a report dated August 2020 containing its recommendations for change and the details of its review of the electoral arrangements for the County Borough of Neath Port Talbot.

The Welsh Ministers have, after consideration of the matters referred to and set out in section 37(2) (a) and (c) of the 2013 Act, decided to give effect to those recommendations with modifications.

In accordance with section 37(3) of the 2013 Act, more than 6 weeks have elapsed since those recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Ministers.

The Welsh Ministers make the following Order in exercise of their powers conferred by section 37(1) of the 2013 Act.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was established by section 53 of, and Schedule 8 to, the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70) ("the 1972 Act"). Section 53 and Schedule 8 were repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013 (anaw 4) ("the 2013 Act"). The 2013 Act re-names the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales as the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (see section 2).
(2) 2013 anaw 4.