WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 1138 (W. 275)

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, WALES

The County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021

Made - - - - 11 October 2021 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales(1) has, in accordance with section 36(5) of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013(2) ("the 2013 Act"), submitted to the Welsh Ministers a report dated February 2021 containing its recommendations for change and the details of its review of the electoral arrangements for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan.

The Welsh Ministers have decided to give effect to those recommendations without modification.

In accordance with section 37(3) of the 2013 Act, more than 6 weeks have elapsed since those recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Ministers.

The Welsh Ministers make the following Order in exercise of their powers conferred by section 37(1) of the 2013 Act.

Title, commencement and interpretation

- **1.**—(1) The title of this Order is the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan (Electoral Arrangements) Order 2021.
- (2) For any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(3), this Order comes into force on the second day after the day on which it is made.
- (3) For all other purposes, this Order comes into force on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022(4).
 - (4) In this Order—

⁽¹⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was established by section 53 of, and Schedule 8 to, the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70) ("the 1972 Act"). Section 53 and Schedule 8 were repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013 (anaw 4) ("the 2013 Act"). The 2013 Act re-names the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales as the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (see section 2).
(2) 2013 anaw 4.

⁽³⁾ S.I. 1976/246. Section 74(3) of the 2013 Act provides that these Regulations continue to have effect in relation to orders made under Part 3 of the 2013 Act, as if those orders were made under Part 4 of the 1972 Act.

⁽⁴⁾ The Local Authorities (Change to the Years of Ordinary Elections) (Wales) Order 2019 (S.I. 2019/1269 (W. 220)) amends section 26(1) of the 1972 Act to provide that the year in which the ordinary elections of councillors of local authorities shall take place is 2022 instead of 2021.

"electoral ward" ("ward etholiadol") means any area for which members are elected to the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan Council;

words and expressions used in this Order have the same meaning as they have in Part 3 of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013, except so far as a contrary intention appears.

Electoral arrangements for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan

- **2.**—(1) The electoral wards of the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan, as they exist immediately before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2022, are abolished.
- (2) The County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan is divided into 24 electoral wards each bearing the English language name listed in column 1 and the Welsh language name listed in column 2 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (3) Each electoral ward comprises the areas specified in relation to that electoral ward in column 3 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (4) The number of members of the council to be elected for each electoral ward is the number specified in column 4 of the Table in the Schedule to this Order.
- (5) The provisions in this Order take precedence over any conflicting provision in any previous statutory instrument made under section 58(2) of the Local Government Act 1972(5).

Rebecca Evans
Minister for Finance and Local Government, one
of the Welsh Ministers

11 October 2021

^{(5) 1972} c. 70; section 58 of the 1972 Act was repealed by section 73(2) of, and Schedule 2 to, the 2013 Act, subject to savings provisions specified in section 74 of the 2013 Act.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

NAMES AND AREAS OF ELECTORAL WARDS AND NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Table

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)
English language name of electoral ward	Welsh language name of electoral ward	Area of electoral ward	Number of members of the council
Baruc	Baruc	The Baruc ward of the town of Barry	3
Buttrills	Buttrills	The Buttrills ward of the town of Barry	2
Cadoc	Cadog	The Cadoc ward of the town of Barry	4
Castleland	Castleland	The Castleland ward of the town of Barry	2
Cornerswell	Cornerswell	The Cornerswell ward of the town of Penarth	2
Court	Court	The Court ward of the town of Barry	2
Cowbridge	Y Bont-faen	The town of Cowbridge with Llanblethian, and the community of Penllyn	3
Dinas Powys	Dinas Powys	The communities of Dinas Powys, and Michaelston	4
Dyfan	Dyfan	The Dyfan ward of the town of Barry	2
Gibbonsdown	Gibbonsdown	The Gibbonsdown ward of the town of Barry	2
Illtyd	Illtud	The Illtyd ward of the town of Barry	3
Llandough	Llandochau	The community of Llandough	1
Llandow	Llandŵ	The communities of Colwinston, Llandow, and Llangan	1
Llantwit Major	Llanilltud Fawr	The town of Llantwit Major, and the community of Llanmaes	
Peterston-super-Ely	Llanbedr-y-fro	The communities of Pendoylan, Peterston-super- Ely, and Welsh St Donats	1
		2	

Column (1)	Column (2)	Column (3)	Column (4)
English language name of electoral ward	Welsh language name of electoral ward	Area of electoral ward	Number of members of the council
Plymouth	Plymouth	The Plymouth ward of the town of Penarth	2
Rhoose	Y Rhws	The community of Rhoose	3
St Athan	Sain Tathan	The community of St Athan	2
St Bride's Major	Saint-y-brid	The communities of Ewenny, St Bride's Major, St Donats, and Wick	2
St Nicholas and Llancarfan	Sain Nicolas a Llancarfan	The communities of Llancarfan, St Nicholas and Bonvilston, and St Georges- super-Ely	1
St Augustine's	St Augustine's	The St Augustine's ward of the town of Penarth	3
Stanwell	Stanwell	The Stanwell ward of the town of Penarth	2
Sully	Sili	The community of Sully	2
Wenvoe	Gwenfô	The community of Wenvoe	1

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order implements the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales ("the Commission"), which reported in February 2021 on its review of the electoral arrangements for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan. The Commission's Report proposed an increase in the number of electoral wards from 23 to 24, and an increase in the number of councillors from 47 to 54.

This Order implements the Commission's recommendations, without modification.

Article 2 of this Order abolishes the existing electoral arrangements for the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan and introduces a Schedule which sets out the new electoral arrangements for the electoral wards within the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan.

The Welsh Ministers' Code of Practice on the carrying out of Regulatory Impact Assessments was considered in relation to this Order. As a result, it was not considered necessary to carry out a regulatory impact assessment as to the likely costs and benefits of complying with this Order.