#### WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2024 No. 135

# The National Health Service Joint Commissioning Committee (Wales) Regulations 2024

#### PART 1

#### Introduction

#### Title and coming into force

- **1.**—(1) The title of these Regulations is the National Health Service Joint Commissioning Committee (Wales) Regulations 2024.
  - (2) These Regulations come into force on 1 April 2024.

### Interpretation

- **2.** In these Regulations—
  - "the Act" ("y Ddeddf") means the National Health Service (Wales) Act 2006;
  - "associate member" ("aelod cyswllt") means the chief commissioner employed by the host Local Health Board:
  - "chair" ("cadeirydd") means the chairperson of the joint committee;
  - "chief officer" ("prif swyddog") means a chief executive of a Local Health Board;
  - "health service body" ("corff gwasanaeth iechyd") means NHS England, the National Institute of Health and Care Excellence, the Health Research Authority, any Special Health Authority, any Local Health Board, any NHS Trust or any NHS Foundation Trust;
  - "host Local Health Board" ("Bwrdd Iechyd Lleol cynhaliol") means Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Local Health Board(1);
  - "the joint committee" ("y cyd-bwyllgor") means the NHS Wales Joint Commissioning Committee established pursuant to the National Health Service Joint Commissioning Committee (Wales) Directions 2024 made on 6 February 2024;
  - "Local Health Board" ("Bwrdd Iechyd Lleol") means a Local Health Board in Wales established in accordance with section 11(2) of the Act(2);
  - "member" ("aelod") means a member or the associate member of the joint committee as set out in regulation 3 of these Regulations;

<sup>(1)</sup> Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Local Health Board was established under the Local Health Boards (Establishment and Dissolution) (Wales) Order 2009 (S.I. 2009/778 (W. 66)) as amended by S.I 2019/349 (W. 83).

<sup>(2)</sup> Powys Teaching Local Health Board was established under the Local Health Boards (Establishment) (Wales) Order 2003 (S.I. 2003/148 (W. 18)). Aneurin Bevan University Local Health Board, Betsi Cadwaladr University Local Health Board, Cardiff and Vale University Local Health Board, Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Local Health Board, Hywel Dda University Local Health Board and Swansea Bay University Local Health Board were established under the Local Health Boards (Establishment and Dissolution) (Wales) Order 2009 (S.I. 2009/778 (W. 66)) as amended by S.I 2019/349 (W. 83).

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

"nominated representative" ("cynrychiolydd enwebedig") means an officer member nominated by the chief officers of a Local Health Board. Officer member in this context means any office set out in regulation 3(2) of the Local Health Boards (Constitution, Membership and Procedures) (Wales) Regulations 2009(3);

"non-officer member" ("aelod nad yw'n swyddog") means a member of the joint committee appointed in accordance with regulation 4 of these Regulations who is not the chair.